how to be as successful as possible without losing the feeling of failure:

This post intended for Week 3

My definition of success for writing in general is the ability to fully explain what you need to write down in a way which makes sense to the audience and is appropriate for the setting in which you’re piece will be read.  With a little energy, anyone can do it.

In theory, my definition of success as a writer is when I write a book and it gets published. My friends and family will call me a success and maybe throw a party.  For a brief moment when at least a hundred people buy my book, I will dismiss the very possible fact that fifty of those copies were purchased by people I know, and feel like a success.

Then, I don’t and won’t remember who said it, but I will remember some famous author like Stephen King or someone else of import once said that you are not a real author until you write your second book.

I will feel like a one-trick show pony because obviously it is only by God’s grace and a drunken man who got a little too liberal with a giant Approve stamp, that a publisher took an interest in anything I had to say.

Then, again by God’s grace and a lazy intern, will I get published again and have two books in print.  It will be at this point where I can then rub my creative success in the faces of everyone who ever doubted me; which is basically one person plus the publishing companies who rejected me, which is really not a lot, but darn it, they’re going to see they were wrong!

Then I shall be considered a success by my friends, potentially my writing peers, and Stephen King –or whoever it was who said one needs to write two books to be a real author.

Of course, I will again feel unsuccessful because I will be back to square one with an unwritten book to write and the sheer terror that I won’t do right by what I want to say.  There appears to be very little winning in the realm of writers, but I’ve made peace with that because new and on-going projects are what keep life interesting.

you made it to the end of the article. anything to say for yourself?

