when I grow up

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

-Everyone Who has Ever Talked To A Four Year Old

I wanted to work at Seaworld and be a dolphin trainer.  I also wanted to own cats.  I wasn’t sure if that was an actual profession, but I wanted to do it anyway.

Ten years later I was in middle school and people started asking me again, “What do you want to do after high school?”  What do I want to do after high school?  I just wanted to survive high school!  Such a response wouldn’t pacify the average friend-of-the-family so I simply said, “I want to be a writer,” with upmost confidence.  That was my story, and I stuck to it all through middle school, and the first two years of high school.

Up through then, my favorite subject had been English.  I liked writing essays and reading books, but I wasn’t sure if writing was a direction I wanted to go in because sometimes it was hard to find money in it.  I felt lost.  High school is precollege.  You take a certain set of classes that will get you into the university that will give you the best education in your major, and I didn’t even know what I wanted.

Beginning of eleventh grade came and everyone was already filling out their applications and studying for the SATs.  My counselor sent a mass request for all of us to talk to her about our plans.  I did what I was asked to do:  I went to her office, and stood in line for an hour and a half until she was free.  I sat down in a chair that smelled about thirty years older than I was as she brought up my profile.

“What do you want to do in life?”

My lips were ready to say the ever-familiar phrase when something stopped me.  I just sat there with my mouth agape and thought about what I wanted to do.  This was college; I do anything.  I could educate myself to be the best whatever-I-wanted that I could be.  I thought about how I liked to read, I liked good dialogue in movies, I liked comparing different styles of character development, I hated pizza rolls and people who wore Uggs in the middle of August, and I spent my time writing stories.  I looked back at her and said, “I want to be a writer,” with upmost bewilderment.

My name is Lauren The Largemouth Bass and I was almost a marine biology major.

5 thoughts on “when I grow up”

  1. I tried so hard not to comment but I just had too… I don’t really know you, but you have talent.

    The second paragraph I totally understood your tone. ” “What do you want to do after high school?” What do I want to do after high school? I just wanted to survive high school!” As I read that, I could somehow sense the emphasis on, “what DO I want..”

    Also, I really liked your reoccurring theme, “what do you want to…” A nice touch.

    Like

  2. What I want to be right now is a banker, because I love studying economy and business. When I was young, I wanted to be a basketball player because I thought it was a passion career. Different period we have different dreams, and we all make efforts for dreams. I hope you can do what you want to do, and doing it very successfully.

    Like

  3. I really enjoy your writing style so i think being a writer is the perfect thing for you. you keep the reader engaged in your story, you have a great vocabulary and you have very good tonality. It’s really nice that what you pretended to want all those years really ended up being the right thing for you.

    Like

  4. I found your post very very interesting. It shows how life repeats itself naturally. I am curious though what your major is. Just because you want to be a writer does not tell me you major. i can assume it is English?

    Like

you made it to the end of the article. anything to say for yourself?

